Yummy Milk Tea

Standard

To those who know me well, they know that I am not a great fan of milk.  I just can’t tolerate the taste of it. It follows that I am very selective of food with milk in it. Ice cream, chicolate and yes, milk tea, the latest craze to hit town.

While my children drool at the mere sight of milk tea, I do the opposite. I would always settle for a fruit shake or hot tea when in any of the coffee shops that has mushroomed all over the country.

It was a different experience though when I tried the milk tea at Hong Kong. It was sweltering inside the restaurant while my family and I were having breakfast. The breakfast fare had hot coffee, iced tea or milk tea for the drinks. You wouldn’t think I will order coffee. I ordered the iced lemon tea. It arrived with enough ice cubes to cool it. It was different from the usual iced tea here in Manila. It was so refreshingly good.

image

Milk Tea

I tasted my daughter’s milk tea order just so I can compare with what is usual in the Philippines. It was different in the sense that it didn’t taste milky. I was an instant fan of the Hong Kong-style milk tea. When we went back for dinner, it was my drink of choice.

About Marla Jimenez Rances

I started blogging in 2008 but was not doing it regularly. It took more than a year to come up with another blog, this time a blog that talked about everyday occurrences. I post on things that caught my attention, people who made me laugh, and matters that cross my mind and need answers. In short, I will be blogging on simple things, snapshots of life. I am wife to Jun, my husband of 24 years and mother to Marco, Nina and Kara. I help out Jun in our family business and hopefully help grow the business so I can spend more time on things that I love to do like travelling, eating, blogging, cooking, cross stitching.

Leave a comment